The Dairy Diaries.

I did it again, folks. I accidentally consumed dairy.

Place yourself in a smaller suburban city at 10:30pm on a Sunday night. Your roommate and significant other want food. What do? Nothing is open, it’s cold outside, and I just need some food in my stomach. “It may not be totally Paleo, but I’ll watch myself closely.”

The first place we stop: the 24-hour Mexican restaurant. It’s closed. Do we want to try Perkin’s? Oh wait, they’re closed too! As is every generally healthy restaurant we have. So where do we end up by 11:00pm? …..Village Inn.

I’ve no problem with Village Inn, in fact, I’ve only been a few times. Of course those few times were to cure a hangover with mass amounts on pancake and pie, but I’m not lost completely on their menu.

Order an iced tea. “Yeah, cupcake, we got this!” After 10 minutes of searching and eliminating poor choices, finally decide on a nice little meal called the Rio Grande Skillet – avocado instead of potato, no sour cream, no cheese. It’s loaded with pork carnitas, red bell peppers, onions, tomatoes, green pork chili and jalapenos. Eggs on top, and even trade Boyfriend his egg for the ‘obligatory’ pancake stack. This is tasting fantastic, success!

…Or is it? I imagined that when I said ‘no dairy’ to the waitress, she knew what that meant. No hard feelings, there was one other table in the entire restaurant. Not five minutes after I take my last bite, the stomach starts rumbling. Uh-oh, I know this feel. Quite well, actually. This is the same feel I got after eating that queso-dip at my NYE party. There was no visible dairy, but then it hit me – she must have used cream or butter.

I have never been lactose intolerant. In fact, for at least the last 2 years, I was eating cheese and milk twice per day! Not only that, but for the last 22 years, I was consuming cheese at least once per day. After 11 days of detoxing dairy (5, before the NYE incident), little amounts of dairy are sending me into a fit of intestinal trauma.

This is bittersweet for me. While I don’t wish to be in pain from having a little dairy here and there, it is a change I need to make. Hopefully when I pass this initial 30-days, I can bring back goat and raw dairy without a hitch. For now (and ever, most likely) I say goodbye to salty cheeses and homogenized milk.

Sayonara, sucker.

3 thoughts on “The Dairy Diaries.

  1. Well, to be quite fair, the meaning of dairy, protein, carbo etc excapes most of us. I think dairy are milk related stuff (?) Still, the rest are unknown ground. So I guess it’s fair and safer to assume people don’t know so you know you’re talking about the same thing.
    I hope that you’re feeling better. Tummy aches are quite the bummer.

Leave a Reply

