Primal Steak Salad, a Paleo Super Lunch!

I’m not perfect.

Whew. Now that I’ve got that off my chest, we can go back to the topic at hand. Sometimes, I don’t have the hunger or time for three meals and two snacks per day. That’s not necessarily a Paleo guideline, but more or less a metabolism maximizer. In order for me to get all my calories, fat, carbs, and protein in order, I usually have to make large meals that are fatty and packed with protein. They tide me over for hours, and give me the nutrients that Paleo says I need. Today, I made this ridiculous steak salad, it was so good. I’m licking my fingers as I’m typing this to you on a now greasy keyboard. It’s that good.

salad shot

End product, but we’ll get to that.

Want the recipe? Yeah, I figured. Before we get started, I’m not a photographer, so sorry for any blurry pics. I take them in my kitchen with a Nikon D40x while I’m cooking, I’m not down with that stock photo bullshit.

What I used:

  • 6-8 oz Beef Chuck-eye Steak
  • Trader Joe’s Applewood Smoked – Uncured Bacon Ends & Pieces (Nitrite/Nitrate Free)
  • Trader Joe’s – Romaine Salad Chopped Romaine Lettuce, 1 cup
  • Trader Joe’s – Organic Broccoli Slaw, 1/4 cup
  • Benissimo – Mediterranean Garlic Oil, 1 tbsp
  • Botte Piccola – Aceto Balsamico Di Modena, 1 tbsp
  • Dried Bay Leaves, 1 pinch
  • Lawry’s Garlic Salt, .25 tsp

First, add the oils to your skillet. You’ll need 1 tbsp each. Let them simmer for 1-2 minutes, heating enough to cook the meat thoroughly without burning.

oil in pan

 

After the oils have heated, add your meat. This is when you’ll sprinkle the garlic salt and bay leaves on the meat, giving it a salty, herby flavor. I’ve found that rosemary and sage also go well with balsamic vinegar.

split steak seasoned

Make sure to leave a natural slit in your steak to cook thoroughly.

 

Now, comes patience. Let your steak simmer for 15-25 minutes, depending on your stove’s heat and cookware quality. As you see here, I use old skillets – but cookware is definitely something to invest in when you’re cooking with meat so much.

In another pan, sizzle up some of that delicious bacon. In true primal fashion, I’m using Trader Joe’s uncured, nitrate free, applewood smoked bacon ends and pieces. It is fantastic! For all of you regular bacon lovers, this doesn’t taste any different, it’s just better for you. Its thicker, which is good – I’ve never been one to like thin, crunchy bacon.

Ready? Aannnnddd salivate.

Ready? Set? Salivate.

 

When the bacon has sizzled to your desired tenderness (or crunchiness, I’m not here to judge), take off the heat and let it dry. For this, I use a small plate with a paper towel. There’s no need to get fancy now, save that for later.

a.k.a, greasy goodness.

a.k.a, greasy goodness.

 

At this point, your steak should be done (or almost, anyway). I like my steak medium. If you’re not grilling, it’s harder to gauge. This steak turned out a little medium-well, but the flavor made up for the extra done-ness.

MMMMMMMMM

MMMMMMMMM :)

 

At this point, you’re ready to tear up the meat. Don’t be a girl (unless you’re anatomically inclined, in that case, be a greasy goddess) and get your hands dirty! Rip the bacon apart, and cut the meat. You want chunks that are about 1/2 an inch, or if your mouth is bigger, go all out.

Blurry chunks of awesome, that's what this is.

Blurry chunks of awesome!

 

While the meat is cooling, and trust me – it’ll need a minute or two, get your salad ready. Some leafy romaine will do the trick! This is also good with kale, iceberg or spinach. I’ve noticed that spinach tends to wilt faster, so make sure your greens are very cold and your meat is thoroughly cooled if you’d like to go that route.

After you’ve got your greens on the plate, add the cut up meat. Throw some fresh, raw broccoli slaw on top – this provides and crunchiness that is just to die for.

End product? Awesome.

Shit, guys.. I'm getting hungry again.

Shit, guys.. I’m getting hungry again.

 

Pair that sucker with some fresh brewed, un-sweetend iced tea (in a wine glass, because now it’s time to get fancy) and you’ve got yourself one delicious meal.

Tea in a wine glass, because we're classy.

Make sure you’re tea is in a wine glass, because you are classy.

 

Well kids, that’s how you do a super lunch – primal style. Enjoy making this, it’s not quick – but it’s cheap and gets the job done. You may not even be able to eat it all, I mean, sometimes my eyes are bigger than my stomach is. Pop the remainder in the fridge, update your calorie counts and take that to work on Monday. Let your office mates be jealous while they heat up their sodium laden lasagnas and gluten filled breadsticks…

Let’s not be bitter friends, we’re the ones getting results.

I know what you guys are really here for, the nutrition facts. I know you so well.

Here are the stats, in an oddly proportioned table. Ya know, if you can take down the entire thing.

 

Totals 640 6 50 44 2 6
Calories Carbs Fat Protein Fiber Sugar

 

Sometimes, I am feeling frisky and upload my recipes to Allrecipes.com, like this one! Check them out here: http://allrecipes.com/cook/187208321/profile.aspx

Have recipe ideas or suggestions? Not sure how your friends and family will react? I’ll review a recipe of yours for free. Fill out the form below, and let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

